Temples and joss-sticks

I have more than one folder on my hard-drive holding photos which I’ve forgotten the exact location or time, but the photos have a theme. That’s the danger of taking so many photos (on negative film), over so many years and not keeping records.

With a fair degree of confidence I declare this the famous Temple Street temple in Kwoloon

With a fair degree of confidence I declare this the famous Temple Street temple in Kowloon

Even the faintest whiff of joss has my imagination rushing back to HK temples. This is the inside of the Temple St temple

Even the faintest whiff of joss has my imagination rushing back to HK temples. This is the inside of the Temple St temple

KT BP odd026

KT BP odd027

At the end of the day, the joss disposal man clears away the smoking remains

At the end of the day, the joss disposal man clears away the smoking remains

Wong Tai Sin Temple

As a visiting gwai-lo back in the 1980s, it was the ‘done thing’ to visit Wong Tai Sin, shake a few sticks out of a pot and pay a wise old man to tell your fortune.

03-70023

03-70014

Notice the poor fellow whose fervent prayer has resulted in his head disappearing in a puff of smoke

Notice the poor fellow whose fervent prayer has resulted in his head disappearing in a puff of smoke

03-70017

03-70019

03-70020

03-70021

 

A 1985 vintage photo

A 1985 vintage photo

The young 'Grasshopper' shakes his sticks

The young ‘Grasshopper’ shakes his sticks

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TWIST(ED

INCENSE)

Originally posted on retireediary:

This is the first time I photographed within a temple in Hong Kong.

Just yesterday, I was testing my new camera at the Man Mo Temple along Hollywood Road on Hong Kong Island.DSCF0118

I was fascinated by the light coming at an angle onto the interior of the temple, the smoke from the spiral incense and also from the joy sticks – in the end I took many photos of the scene which seem very colorful and surreal to me.

Here, I am only showing the spiral incense photo as an entry to this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Twist.

 

 

 

SMOKE GETS IN MY EYE – MAN MO TEMPLE

Originally posted on retireediary:

The main theme of my photography at Man Mo Temple was smoke and light ; and I thoroughly the experience.

Light was coming in at an angle and there was a swirling cloud of smoke from the burning incense.DSCF0164A

I could remember the smoke scenes from many movie pictures, but it was a scene which I have never seen before.DSCF0160

On looking closer, the smoke from some joss sticks did float up in streaks, streaks which gave the place a particular atmosphere.

The ascending smoke just threw me into a trance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

View original

Leave a Reply

